@stephchach

Seattle adventures, life, home, and coffee—in no particular order

Give peas a chance

Peas! Sprouting! Yeah!

Things are sprouting! My adorable little peas just stuck their green heads out of the dirt. It’s very exciting. I’ve never actually grown anything from seed, so it’s good to know that it’s pretty hard to screw that up.

I also fed my clematis today, which miraculously returned from the dead a few weeks back. I planted it at the tail end of last summer, imagining the bare trellis covered in vines and deep purple flowers in, you know,  a week or so. Turns out it doesn’t work like that. It’s flowers quickly fell off, it turned brown, and started looking very, very sad. But it was just sleeping, like all good plants do during the winter months. Now, it’s back and growing faster than ever! I’ll be looking for those gorgeous purple flowers…

Back from the dead

Today’s seed update: planted some organic bok choy and a sweet carrot hybrid (the ingot, long nantes type if we’re getting really specific here).

Totally pumped about the bok choy. I’ve been looking everywhere for those seeds, and almost–almost–sucked it up and bought a $10 seed pack from an overpriced online organic seed outlet a few weeks ago. I’d written it off entirely, but while standing in line to buy some cold meds today, I browsed the seed rack, and there it was! There will be mountains of stir fry in our not-so-distant future.

Bok choy and carrots, planted

Adam’s mom dropped off some other seed packets today, a few varieties of beans and some cukes and zuccini. Since my garden is running out of room, and I want to plant the beans against a wall or fence, I’m on the hunt for a long wooden planter. I’d like to take over the back corner of the deck and turn it into the Bean Zone. With lots and lots of beans. It’s going to be great.

That’s it for now. Final volleyball game of the spring season tonight, and yes, I really should be writing final papers. *Sigh*

Stinky and his repotted nemesis

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 21, 2010 by in Uncategorized.
