@stephchach

Seattle adventures, life, home, and coffee—in no particular order

Time to stop pretending I hate the institution of marriage

Holy crap, we’re getting married!

So, here’s the story. I feel like I’m letting people down every time they ask for the details because it’s not even that involved or elaborate, but it was perfect!

We went camping this weekend with my sister, Adam’s brother and his friend, Sean, and a couple we’re friends with (plus their dog, Guts, Jasper’s BFF). We tried a new location, Cooper Lake, and it was absolutely gorgeous. We found a spot right on the lake, and it would have been the perfect weekend of camping, kayaking, and hanging out even without the proposal!

Lake Cooper, my new favorite spot

Sunday morning I woke up to a very sappy man-friend who kept wanting to hug and kiss me (in all his smelly man glory ;) He told me that we should go on a walk around the lake with Jasper later in day. Sure, sounds good!

Sisters! Kayaking! Together!

A few tequila lemonades later, I went out for a paddle and had a blast exploring the north end of the lake. I had just gotten back, opened a beer, and sat down at the campfire when Adam made a motion that we should leave for our walk. Sure, whatever!

Jasper and his BFF, Guts. If you'll recall from a previous post, Jasper love Guts partially because they both love to play, but mostly because Guts gives a mean blow J.

I stood up, announced to the group that we were heading off into the woods to ‘do it’ (classy? Oh yeah!), and herded Jasper over to the lake trail. We passed the tent on the way, and Adam stopped to grab his gun belt holster thingy.

Me: Really? You need your gun?

Adam: We might run into a bear!

Now here’s a visual: I’m unshowered, holding a beer, wearing sexy plastic rain pants. Adam is unshowered, bearded, and wearing his gun belt holster thingy.

We headed down the trail, and when it met with the lake shore, Adam suggested we stop and take a picture. Then he wanted to sit on the log for a minute. Sure, sounds good!

Let's just pretend that I took this picture, moments before he proposed. (In reality, Doodle gets all the photo credit ;)

He started being all sappy, then reached into his gun belt (oh yes, it’s true) and pulled out a ring box and asked me to marry him. Of course, I said yes, and let him continue on with more sappiness :)

Adam’s rationale for the gun belt ring holster: Where else was I going to put it? Classic Adam ;)

Shockingly enough, this cry baby didn’t cry when he asked me. But I’ve managed to cry just about every time we’ve told someone, so luckily my tear ducts aren’t broken.

Me and my boo, looking hot! (And happy!)

Mostly I’m just glad that a) he caught me off guard (which is pretty damn hard to do) and b) my sister was there and c) he did it in our element (‘cause Lord knows I look best without make-up or proper grooming).

Is it tacky to post pictures of your ring on the internet? WHATEVER!

And, this whole being engaged thing is awesome. Turns out EVERYONE you know calls, texts, or emails you when they find out. It’s like a life reunion! Now I’m pumped for an excuse for all our friends and family to be forced into an evening (or weekend!) of partying in the PNW. Yeah!

I’ll leave you with some of my favorite reactions to the news…

[Un-named lady friend and mama]: Shut the FUCK UP!

(Who knew mothers used such scandalous language?!)

[My Brother Alex]: Yeah, I’ll believe it when I see it. [Us]: You are seeing it. This is it. The ring. [Alex]: Yeah, yeah.

(Hmm, apparently he won’t believe we’re actually engaged for another year plus…)

[Too many friends to name names]: WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT? Or, the ever popular: OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

[Cousin Liz]: Who knew all you had to do was stop showering?! Yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

[Crys]: No mas chicharon? What’s adam’s last name?

(Girl goes right to the important stuff! Sheesh—it’s a delicate issue, ok?)

4 comments on “Time to stop pretending I hate the institution of marriage

  1. Crystal Martinez
    June 3, 2010

    Jajaja!!! I love how my quote made your top favorite reaction list. The reason why I asked, “No mas Chicharon…What’s Adam’s Last Name?” was because your o’so delicious last name was the reason why I fell in love with pork…i mean, you! Although I do enjoy an occasional clementine. Yummo! Viva El Amor! XOXO

  2. stephchach
    June 4, 2010

    It is delicious, isn’t it? Every time I meet a Mexican they laugh at my last name, and it makes me think of you :) How can I give that up?!

  3. Liz
    June 4, 2010

    Since I’ve already responded to the glorious news and seen the ring blah blah, I will ask only one question “Who the hell named that dog Guts?”

    • stephchach
      June 8, 2010

      Not going to lie–I thought that at first too. Apparently it’s from anime? But it grows on you, and it’s the perfect name for him! Little Guts Griffin Andersen :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 2, 2010 by in Camping, Kayaking, Wedding.
