@stephchach

Seattle adventures, life, home, and coffee—in no particular order

Nerd alert

I’m being published, and I’m totally geekin’ out!

For my program, the majority of our final papers are intended for submission to a scholarly publication. Our profs frequently assign us readings from Intercom–the journal of the Society of Technical Communicators–and encourage us to submit our own articles to the publication.

I wiggled my way around that requirement in my digital media class last term, and instead created a legacy document for Western Crane (to accompany their almost-complete website). But I did submit one article to Intercom; I wrote a piece on dealing with novice writers for my editing class.

I just got word today that they’re publishing my article in their July/August issue! It’s a lame-o article, and an even more lame-o publication, but it’s still pretty exciting for me!

Obviously, I’m using this as a reason for Adam to treat me to dinner and brewskis at Elliot Bay Brewery. After this I’ll have to start creating ficticious accounts of journal acceptance–I’ll basically do anything for a free meal and beer.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 22, 2010 by in USU.
