@stephchach

Seattle adventures, life, home, and coffee—in no particular order

Organized chaos, in purple

My home office is an exercise in organized chaos. It’s a deliberate array of color and post-its and books and impulse buys from the Container Store. And I love it.  

Work and school–day in and day out–can be a little…mundane, to put it nicely. To compensate, I like to surround myself with some good ol’ fashioned sensory overload. Somehow it calms me, and the eclectic surroundings make the otherwise mundane bearable.

An accent wall was the obvious choice to make an already zany room a little zanier. I’m going through a purple phase, so I searched the color chips at Home Depot for the perfect shade of eggplant. As luck would have it, my girl Martha carries the exact hue I had envisioned. It’s name? Eggplant. Coincidence? No way. Thanks, Ms. Stewart.

Before...

...and after

Now that the office is be-purpled, I’ve decided never to set foot outside the room again. Unless I need coffee. Or food. Ok, so almost never.

Is it weird that I love to gaze at the freshly painted wall? I didn’t think so.

My Frida shrine

4 comments on “Organized chaos, in purple

  1. Sara
    March 18, 2011

    It’s Liz’s friend Sara, and I love it! Purple is my favorite colior, but I have always thought it would be too much on a wall. I love it with the yellow color, too. Well done!

    • stephchach
      March 18, 2011

      Thanks, lady! I completely agree. I originally had my heart set on painting the whole room, but it would have been way too much. Purple accents all the way! Good luck with your new home improvements!

  2. Liz
    March 29, 2011

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 18, 2011 by in Home.
